Student awards

Hoskin Scientific Student Poster Award

This award is created and sponsored by the Hoskin Scientific Ltd. instruments company and presented to the student with the best poster presentation at the annual conference. All students presenting a poster are automatically considered for this award.

Student paper and oral presentation award
First prize : Bill Stolte Award

The total award value is $750, of which $500 is a cash award and $250 is in-kind support in the form of publication expenses (in either the Canadian Water Resources Journal or Water News) of the winning paper.

Bill Stolte was a Professor at the University of Saskatchewan and a long-standing member of the Canadian Water Resources Association (CWRA) contributing at both the Provincial and National levels. Professor Stolte was also an active member of the Canadian Society of Hydrological Sciences. He was a teacher, supervisor and mentor with a keen interest in promoting student participation in the CWRA, as evidenced by his involvement in organizing the best student paper award at the CWRA 2000 Annual Conference.

Second prize : “Our water, our life, the most valuable resource”

The prize is a cash award of $250 and award plaque. This prize is awarded by the Newfoundland and Labrador Branch of the Canadian Water Resources Association. In 2011, the Newfoundland and Labrador Branch hosted the national conference with the theme “Our water, our life, the most valuable resource”. Following the great success of the event, a student award was created in 2013 to promote the involvement of the next generation in the management of water resources.

Criteria for application for the awards are as follows:

  1. The student must be the first author of the submitted paper and the first presenter of the presentation.
  2. The student must submit a 5 – 6 page paper (double spaced) by May 1st, 2016. The paper will follow the format shown on the next page.
  3. The student must make an oral presentation at the conference.
  4. The student must be enrolled at a post-secondary or graduate program at the time the application is submitted.
  5. Judging is based on both written and presentation components of the student’s work.

Applications should be submitted electronically to:

The submitted paper should comply with the following format:

Title of paper

1st Author1*, 2nd Author2

1affiliation and address of 1st author

2affiliation and address of 2nd author (if different from 1st)

*Corresponding author: name, email address and phone number



Body of article



References in the text should be cited by author and date: for example, Bruce (1975) or (Bruce, 1975) depending on sentence construction. A complete alphabetical list of references cited must be included at the end of the manuscript using the following style.

Bruce, James and Bruce Mitchell. 1995. Broadening Perspectives on Water Issues. Incidental Report No. 1R95–1, Royal Society of Canada. Ottawa, ON.

de Loë, R.C. 1997. “Return of the Feds, Part II: The Oldman River Dam.” Canadian Water Resources Journal, 22 (1): 35–44.

The manuscripts should be double–spaced. Each page should be numbered. Figures (maps, diagrams, photographs) and tables should appear on separate pages and should be numbered. Manuscripts should not exceed 5,000 words in length.

The Tóth Award for the best student presentation in Canadian Hydrogeology


The Tóth Award is named in honour of the founder of the Canadian National Chapter of the International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH-CNC), Professor József Tóth. During his long and productive career in Canada, Dr. Tóth made many important contributions to Canadian hydrogeology and was an inspirational teacher.

The Tóth Award is presented to promote active participation in the IAH-CNC among hydrogeology students attending Canadian Universities and to recognize excellence in hydrogeology. The award provides an incentive for students and recent graduates to attend the national IAH-CNC conferences and present the results of their studies.

Eligibility criteria

  • Abstracts submitted for consideration for the award must be prepared primarily by the student (as first author) and must deal with, as the primary topic, the student’s university thesis or other university work.
  • The student must, at the time of the submission of the initial abstract, be a currently registered as a B.Sc., M.Sc. or Ph.D. student at a Canadian University or be within one year of having graduated from a Canadian university.
  • Mature students who have returned to university to complete an advanced degree following several years of outside experience, or students who have worked as hydrogeologists for several years and are attending university on a part-time basis are not eligible for the award.

Submission procedure

The submission deadline is May 1st, 2016. Authors who wish their presentation to be considered for the Tóth Award should notifiy by email. The email should clearly indicate that:

  • The presentation (oral or poster) is to be considered for the Tóth Award; and
  • The senior author is eligible for the award.


The Vice President of the IAH-CNC will strike a committee consisting of him/herself (or designate) as well as two or more additional Canadian hydrogeologists who will be attending the annual conference. This will constitute the Selection Panel that will be charged with determining the winner of the award for the year.

Abstracts will be judged on the basis of technical merit, originality of the topic and quality of the writing and constitute 20% of the score. The student authors of these abstracts must present their results as either oral presentations or posters at the conference. The presentations will be judged on the basis of the quality of the visual materials and the quality of the presentation. The oral/poster presentations will be assigned a weighting of 50% of the score, with the quality of responses to questions constituting the final 30% of the score. The student receiving the highest combined mark will be judged the award winner.

The determination of the panel will be final and the award will be presented as part of the annual conference. The award will not be presented if the Selection Panel decides that no submissions are of a sufficient quality.


The winning student will receive a cash prize of $1,000.00 as well as a certificate from the IAH-CNC. Up to three runners-up will each receive a cash prize of $500, and all winners will also receive a one-year free membership in the IAH-CNC. The winning presentation will be highlighted and the abstract reprinted in the IAH-CNC Bulletin and on the IAH-CNC website.